Sunday, February 7, 2016
On the way home
Once outside - OMG, what a disaster. Since most of the people seem to have purchased the Celebrity transfers to the airport, the lines are crazy and they don't seem to have enough busses.....so we use our new favorite mode of transport - Uber. About 10 minutes later our driver shows up (with 2 other passengers, we were sharing the cab since we didn't have luggage) and 20 minutes later, we're at the airport for a total cost of $11.58.
We head through security, and then up to the Delta Sky lounge to hang out for a few hours until our plane leaves - and so I can use the wifi to get caught up on the blog (since I did get a bit behind)
Saturday, February 6, 2016
Last Day
Friday, February 5, 2016
Almost the last sea day
We left the pool area again when the bad music started (3pm!) and had some snacks in the room - tonight was the 2nd "evening chic" night and we were hitting the show afterwards (ROCK CITY) as it was new. Dinner was quite good in Luminae (duh) and about 830pm we headed to the show, where our butler Cesar, seated us in the reserved suite section. The show was....interesting. Not bad, but I'm not raving about it either. Not as weird as Topper was earlier in the week, but listening to U2 and Nirvana being sung poorly (the girls were good, the guys weren't) was pretty odd. And, the music selection was squarely targeting the 40-50 demographic....with most of the ship being 70+ - so I'm not sure how that's going to work out for them. I liked their previous show "Eclipse" better, but since I'm not running Celebrity Productions, I don't think they care either. It was definitely not as expensive to produce either, the sets never changed. I did also find out that the blonde girl singer is the staff captain's girlfriend.....
After the show was over, stopped by the Martini Bar and then headed upstairs to bed.
Thursday, February 4, 2016
St Maarten, and the big surprise!
Such a wonderful surprise - Pam and Michael had flown to St Maarten for a few days (it was her birthday after all) and were meeting us there for the day. We had some cake and got serious about our shopping expedition. After picking out a few pieces and wanting to take a quick lunch break, we headed over to the Blue Bitch Bar to grab some sandwiches and a few drinks. It was a beautiful day, we had a nice view and the company was outstanding!
After lunch, we headed back to make our final decisions and get everything squared away payment wise - I did come home with a pretty new bracelet, so ask to see it! Pam and Michael had a rental car, so they drove us back to the port where we said our goodbyes and promised to get together again soon. We got back onboard with about 20 minutes to spare - we were the first ship to leave at 5pm - which was interesting since 2 of the ships would be back in Florida with us on Sunday......
Dinner was very good - we ate in Tuscan Grille for the 2nd time this trip - it was very good and I'd recommend it. The Martini bar was fun as always and then off to bed!
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
St Kitts
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Where am I again?
Back to Antigua, this was 11-12 years ago and things have really changed.....they used to get maybe one or 2 ships a week, and now they have 2 docks and there were 4 ships in the day we were there. So we decided not to get off this time, the town isn't really big enough for 12,000 extra people.
Unfortunately, it was also somewhat of a washout at the pool, we got multiple torrential downpours and it was cloudy....so I headed for the future cruise booking desk and booked some future cruises for my friend Pam, who wasn't even on the ship! She and her friends got some extra on board credit to spend because I was checking with her on my iMessage on the iPad. Too funny.
Dinner at Luminae was great and we did some people watching later at the Martini Bar. You can tell people are starting to get tired, the bar is less crowded the later it gets every night.....
Monday, February 1, 2016
And St Lucia....
We had been invited to the sail away on the helipad for the suite guests, it's a little warmer than our last trip in Alaska.
Sunday, January 31, 2016
Sunday, or Barbados
Which means, we don't do many tours, or anything else for that matter.
This tour on Barbados was the only one we were planning to do for the whole trip, so it had better be good! We booked online with a company well recommended from our Cruise Critic group, Calabaza. Wondering how it worked out? Hands down, one of the best trips we've ever taken. The snorkeling was marvelous, and the afternoon sail and snacks were outstanding. They picked us up at the dock right at 215, and we were back about 630pm. Other than it being a bit chilly (so I put on a long sleeve shirt) I can't think of anything I would change. The crew was fabulous, Andrew the captain, and Chris and Keelie the crew were super friendly, funny and generally had a good time.
Our first stop was Caryle bay, where we looks for some turtles....must have been a busy day earlier, as they were not hungry for any sort of snacks Keelie had for them. But a few came by to check it out.
Next, off to the other side of the bay for the shipwreck marine park. There were 3 shipwrecks we snorkeled about, and the variety of fish was amazing. That's my flipper, btw.
Then back on the boat for a late afternoon sail up the coast in our rented catamaran.
This is Chris and Chris....once Chris figured out there was another Chris onboard, it became the joke it was "Chris" fault whenever something went wrong.
Back to the ship, got cleaned up and had a late dinner. Outstanding, but a bit slow since we were in the prime eating time.
Saturday, January 30, 2016
Day at Sea
Friday, January 29, 2016
Curaçao Day 2
Spent the ENTIRE day the the pool....nothing to report except my feet.
We left Curaçao, and are currently headed to Barbados with arrival being Sunday. We had dinner at Luminae, the suite restaurant, and headed to the martini bar to hang out after. Apparently they let everyone bartend.
Soon, time for bed and the sea day tomorrow.
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Curaçao, day 1
Got dressed and headed to the pool deck to stake out our claim for the day. I found some seats facing the correct direction (so we'd have sun all day) and not to near the front (so you didn't have to hear the bad music) and on an aisle, for easy egress. Plus near the bar...... :)
Grabbed some food, and then sat by the pool for multiple hours watching the world go by while reading a book. It's really amazing how much time you can spend doing nothing. About 3pm, we headed back to our room(since we are on the pool deck) and got our stuff to head out to shore for a bit. We took a few pictures, and no, I still don't own a selfie stick!
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Aruba
Our first stop was Aruba. And I have nothing to say, we sat by the pool, it was windy and we went to dinner. I read a book by the pool and did very little else.
There are no photos, and we set sail at 8pm for Curaçao. Seriously, the chillest day ever.
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Second sea day....
Monday, January 25, 2016
Night 2, aka "evening chic"
We headed back to Luminae for dinner, and it was excellent. I had French onion soup (duh) with a mushroom and truffle risotto, followed by Cornish game hen. Umm, yummers! Chris had a small Caesar salad, the risotto and a brown butter,sage and spinach gnocchi, which was meh. Here's a fancy picture of formal night in the restaurant.
We went and saw the new show "Topper" about a guy who collects interesting people and keeps them in his hat......okay.....that's a bit of an odd premise, but we can go with it. It was all very contemporary pop/rock music, so that was interesting.
Day 1 at sea!
Sunday, January 24, 2016
First Night out
I don't have any photos from our first evening on the ship, dinner or anything else, so you'll just have to read my words instead.
Anyway, we had our sailaway out the channel, and then hauled out into the Atlantic Ocean. I'm not sure if it's the fact our cabin is all the way aft, or if we were just crossing the current but MAN there was some rocking and rolling going on! Really, we were turning and the whole ship was listing while we made the turn - not enough so that anything moved, but you had to stand a bit crooked!
We unpacked, and then decided to check out Luminae, the suites dining room. This is a new addition to the ships and I am a BIG FAN. They carved off a portion of the main dining room, and redid the interior. It's quite nice looking, and much quieter than any dining room I've been in. Almost like a specialty restaurant. I'll get some photos maybe tonight, since it's "Evening Chic" night.....this is the replacement night of formal night - so I'm sure it will be interesting. Back to Luminae - we had a great meal, they have a separate menu but will bring you anything from the main dining room as well. So I had my favorite, French onion soup, a tomato and burrata salad and beef filet. And a chocolate ganache/mandarin orange tart with a hazelnut crust. Now that was GOOD!!!
The show for the evening was a comedian and we missed it, but the people watching was spectacular from the Martini bar.....I've never seen so many loud, drunk people this early in the cruise!! There's a group of motorcycle riders onboard (they bring the bikes with them on the cruise to ride in the islands) and I think this was some of them (based upon the motorcycle tee shirts they were wearing). They were having a really good time, and as the night went on, more and more ship crew in fancy jackets kept showing up (security, looked like some head bartenders etc) to keep an eye on things. Nothing happened before we left to go back up to our room - so I am sorry I don't know the ending of that one.
And with the magic of Photoshop, I am still in the picture I post....!
Sail away
Here's another shot of us leaving Miami! Chris has informed me he's tired of having to take all the photos and is threatening to buy me a selfie stick.
And inside the library
And the very civilized muster drill, in the Tuscan Grille no less.
Miami, the next day
Well, no pictures of the marathon, we chose to sleep in. About 730 am we could hear the "whoop whoop" of people cheering the runners on, so I turned on the AC fan and went back to sleep. We had gotten late check out, so we had the room until 1pm. So we repacked the bags and here's a funny picture from last night. That's my kind of mini bar!
When we went out to go downstairs, the elevator was broken. :( So we hoofed it down 4 flights of stairs and had the maid call the bellman to help. Checked out and ordered our next Uber for the ride to the port. Between leaving the hotel room and getting in our room on the ship it was about 45 minutes! Easiest process ever. Here's some room shots.











































