Sunday, January 24, 2016

Made it to Miami and then some!

Well, I actually slept on the 90 minute flight from Atlanta to Miami, the flight was pretty quiet, not like the earlier one with all the wakey wakey turbulence. The 2 old ladies in front of us were crabby as hell, I think they were headed to Celebrity Reflection, so maybe they can say hi to my mom for me! :)

We picked up our luggage and grabbed a cab, I wanted to try Uber, but there was a significant wait so we did the cab, which was fine but cost 2x as much. The hotel is really cool, very nicely updated but super small, I think there are only 70 rooms. It's called the Winterhaven, Autograph Collection by Marriott. So I was looking for hotel rooms and they were all over $350 in South Beach....so I used Marriott points to pay for the room! Had just enough for an oceanfront king room. So, when we arrived, about 11am, it was not ready of course, so they took my cell phone and we did a walk about up and down Ocean Ave and Collins in Miami beach, with a stop at the Clevelander Bar for lunch and a drink. My, the people watching is EPIC here. It can also feel somewhat like a foreign country too....lots of international tourists and everyone wants you to eat at their restaurant as you walk by....and breakfast is served late....we were walking at 1130am and everyone was serving breakfast. So this is my kind of town, breakfast and lunch all at the same time.

So had some food at the Clevelander, which was decent bar food, but we really enjoyed the people watching. then came back to our hotel about 130pm, and holey hand grenade, our room was ready!!! What? Room 402, front and center. Here's a pic!


Decided it was time for a little nap, which was excellent. Then off to walk around, ended up walking about 2 miles, stopped at Publix to buy some diet tonic, and then caught our first Uber back to the hotel. What an excellent experience, I see why people are so fanatical about it. Took about 15 minutes, we dropped off our purchases and headed next door to try a new place called Madero Steak house, it's a Brazilian chain. The food was fabulous, they had excellent caiperoskas and I ate too much. But it was good! Back to the hotel, and had some nice drinks at their restaurant. The next stop was back to the Clevelander to check out the party scene. $10 cover for dudes, ladies are free. Drinks were expen$ive. We had a few and then did some people watching, and headed back to the hotel for the night.

 

 

 

No comments:

Post a Comment